June 7, 2016

Tucker Community Foundation Awards Scholarships

Directors approved $48,650 in scholarship awards for 41 students from six counties at the annual meeting of the Tucker Community Foundation (TCF) held May 18. Awards were provided by endowed funds, pass-through donations, and unrestricted income managed by the Foundation. The number of applicants for the 2016 competitive scholarship cycle exceeded any prior year. The Foundation awarded its first (and only) $1,000 scholarship in 1990.

Top awards went to three Tucker County graduates:  Kaylee Nedrow of Parsons, WV, recipient of the $8,000 P.L. & Elizabeth Milkint Scholarship Award; Taylor Ambrose of Montrose, WV, recipient of a $2,000 4-year renewable Kep & Alice Smith Scholarship award, and Zoe Sypolt of Eglon, WV who received a $3,600 scholarship from the Rebecca Ann Chenoweth Memorial Fund and $500 from the George and Marjorie Walburn Fund. Sypolt plans to study business administration at Potomac State; Nedrow plans to study digital media performance at Liberty University; and Ambrose plans to major in journalism at West Virginia University (WVU).

Sarah Davis, of Davis, WV received $2,800 from the H. Max Price Scholarship Fund to continue her studies in education at WVU.

Katelyn Gnegy of Oakland, MD received $2,000 from the Joyce Colbert Veterinary Scholarship Fund to continue studies at Purdue University. Gnegy has completed her 4 year undergrad and is now a first year veterinary medicine student.

Nathaniel Evans of Mt. Storm, WV received $1,100 from the Kline, Evans, Allison Scholarship Fund to pursue a nursing degree at Potomac State. Catherine Van Meter of Cabins, WV received $500 from the Madeline Miller Fund to pursue biomedical engineering at WVU and Michael Hanlin of Mt. Storm received $1,800 from the Dr. Mary Alice Klein Scholarship Fund to pursue a degree in secondary education at WVU.

Two students received $750 each from the Joseph Steffl Scholarship Fund:  Matthew Rao of Dunmore, WV to study natural resources at Glenville State and David Ratzer of Valley Bend to study exercise physiology at WVU.

The Preston High School American Legion Fund generated $4,500 for two Terra Alta students. Kayla Ringer received $2,500 to study radiology at Pierpont Community and Technical College and Sarah Stone received $2,000 to study anthropology and sociology at West Virginia University.

Melissa Carr of Parsons received $1,500 from the Crimson Shamrock Fund to pursue a master’s degree in communication sciences and disorders at WVU.

The Knights of Pythias Brown Lodge #32 Fund provided a $1,000 scholarship to Emilea Warnick of Kingwood, WV to pursue studies in biomedical engineering at WVU.

Two Preston County students received a $550 TCF Directors’ General Scholarship:  Amber Rodeheaver of Bruceton Mills, WV to pursue forensics and investigative sciences at WVU and Emma McClelland of Kingwood, WV to study human biology at West Liberty University.

Two students pursuing a nursing degree at Davis & Elkins College received scholarships:  Leslie Nestor of Parsons received $2,000 from the Parsons High School Alumni Fund and Alexis Roth of Thomas received $1,750 from the Harry and Elizabeth Boyce Scholarship Fund to pursue a nursing degree at Davis & Elkins College.

Mitchell Mason of Parsons, WV was awarded a $1,600 scholarship from the Michael Shahan Fund to pursue studies in biology at Wheeling Jesuit College; Steven Sponaugle, Parsons, WV, received $1,400 from the Enos, Delbert H. & Shirley W. Carr Scholarship Fund to continue his studies in nursing; and Lindsey Knotts of Hambleton, WV was awarded s $1,300 scholarship from the Fraternal Order of Eagles #936 to study electrical technology at the Fred. W. Eberle Technical Center.

$1,100 scholarships were issued to Jonna Burnside of Hambleton from the Orr Family Fund and Mikayla Long of Parsons, WV from the Doug & Betty Preble Scholarship Fund. Burnside plans to study elementary education at Davis & Elkins and Long will pursue nursing at Shepherd University.

$900 scholarships were awarded from the Margaret Ann & James A. Grafton Fund to Angela Bohon of Morgantown, WV to pursue a Doctorate of Practical Nursing degree at WVU and from the W. Denzel & Ernestine A. Kee Scholarship Fund  to Christopher Purnell of Hambleton, WV to study biology at Fairmont State.

Emily Siler of Parsons received an $800 scholarship from the Robert W. Minear, Jr. Memorial Fund and Shane Bodkin, also of Parsons, received $800 from the Bradley J. Ramsey Scholarship Fund to study sports management at WVU. Siler plans to pursue a degree in education at Franciscan University.

 The Herbert W. Clarkson Scholarship Fund provided two $700 awards to Lydia Mullenax and Marcus Mason both of Parsons.  Mullenax plans to study elementary education at Davis & Elkins College and Mason will pursue health sciences at Alderson Broaddus University.

Students receiving $600 awards:  Scottie Bowley of Parsons, winner of the Martha Sponaugle Scholarship; Bethany Barwinczak of Davis, recipient of the Jillian Roberts and Matilde Villalobus Millennium Scholarship;  Jenna White and Zachary Bishoff of Parsons, winners of the Harold and Ruth Shaffer Scholarships.  Bowley plans to study speech and language pathology at WVU, Barwinczak will pursue physical therapy at WVU, White is seeking a degree in secondary education at Alerson Broaddus and Bishoff is studying pharmacy at WVU.

Michael Adkins of Hambleton received $500 from the Walter & Mary Shaffer Helmick Scholarship Fund to study forest resource management at WVU.  Miranda Siler of Parsons received $500 from the Forest G. Clark Fund to study early childhood and special education at the Franciscan University.

The Gary Wilson Scholarship provides annual scholarships for Tucker County residents who are student at a Christian elementary, middle or high school, or being home schooled employing Christian educational principles and values. Rebecca Siler of Parsons and Elva Bible of Davis each received a $300 award.

Former Tucker County graduates, Emily White, Danielle Wilfong and Morgan Moss continue to benefit from their 4-year renewable Kep & Alice Smith Scholarship awards.

If you would like to see more scholarships awarded in your geographic area, contact the foundation for information on how to endow a fund, visit www.tuckerfoundation.net, or call 304-478-2930.  Scholarship applications for 2017 will be available online Feb. 1.

Tucker Community Foundation serves Barbour, Grant, Mineral, Preston, Pocahontas,
Randolph, Tucker County, WV and Garrett County, MD.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *