May 2009

The Board of Directors of the Tucker Community Foundation held their annual meeting May 20, at Blackwater Falls Conference Center. President Diane Beall opened the meeting by welcoming new members, Mr. Lonnie Wolfe and Ms. Rachelle Davis to the board.

Mr. Wolfe graduated from Parsons High School and has been employed by Kingsford Manufacturing Company since 1971. In 2000, he was named Plant Manager of the Parsons facility; a position he currently holds. He and wife Susan live in Elkins where he has served on the board for the Elkins Randolph United Way, Elkins Randolph Chamber of Commerce and the Randolph County Development Authority. Presently he is serving on the board for the WV Self Insurers Association and the WV Manufacturers Association. Lonnie has 3 daughters, Allison, Lauren and Tonya (& Jon) Paxton.

Ms. Davis is a native of Tucker County. She lives in Thomas with husband Jim Baczuk. Rachelle is the enrollment coordinator at Garrett College, in McHenry, MD, and a member of the American Association of University Women. She currently serves as President of the Mountain Top Library Board of Directors. Rachelle enjoys skiing and other outdoor activities. Jim’s daughter Jessica is a senior at Shepherd University.

In other matters, the board approved Scholarship distributions totaling $46,050. A complete list of scholarship recipients will be provided after recipients have been notified. Organizers for the annual Uncle Sam’s Birthday Party presented a detailed plan for this year’s 20th Anniversary celebration. The event will kick off a new era for the annual TCF fundraiser. Organizers have planned a red, white and blue bar-b-que extravaganza. In addition to cash prizes, door prizes, and a $5,000 jackpot drawing, this year’s ticket holders will be entitled to a chance on a very special prize that will be announced soon. Only 250 tickets will be sold and each ticket will sell for $125. One ticket entitles the ticket holder and one guest to the bar-b-que dinner and it provides one chance on the jackpot and one chance on the special prize. Tickets may be purchased by contacting any TCF board member, by calling the Foundation office at 304-478-2930 or by e-mailing The event will be held Saturday, July 4 at Bear Paw Lodge, Canaan Valley State Park. The doors open at 5 p.m. and dinner follows at 6 p.m. Chris Stadelman will serve as Master of Ceremonies.

The meeting concluded with the annual Election of Officers. Board members presented Diane Beall with an appreciation gift for her 3 years of service as President. A charter member, Diane plans to remain active on the board where she serves on several committees. The following members were elected to the 2009 Executive Committee: David Cooper, President, Mariwyn Smith, Vice President, David Moran, Secretary, Marvin “Bud” Parsons, Treasurer and Members at Large, Shawn Nichols, Dan Bucher and James C. Cooper, III. The President serves a 2 year term; all other officers serve one year.

The Foundation office is located on the 2nd floor of the Tucker County Board of Education Annex located at 501 Chestnut Street. The office is open to the public from 8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday. For current Foundation news visit

Comments are closed.

This template supports the sidebar's widgets. Add one or use Full Width layout.